Does LCModel support Siemens data from the XA series?

Hi all,

Does anyone know how to run .rda from Siemens XA20 (or above) on LCModel?
Everything works fine on my VE data but it crashes when I started to work on data from XA20 and 30.

Best,

Steve

1 Like

Came across the post below and it suggested to convert XA data into nifti and call LCModel in Osprey (worth a try…?,).

Yeah, that would be a workable workaround but might be overkill; I’m curious to see what has changed in the RDA file - it’s just a simple text header followed by the FID, and you might be able to hack together a quick converter script that transforms that unreadable RDA into a readable one. If you can post the two text headers (old and new RDA) side by side we might be able to figure something out.

1 Like

Thanks Georg. It works. I converted the headers from XA format to VE format and LCmodel is able to run the data.

2 Likes

Hi Steve,

I am a postdoc at Brown University and it looks like we are going to run into the same issue with our scanner’s upgrade in January.

Do you have any suggestions or any sample code that could help us convert the XA to VE format?

Any help is so greatly appreciated!

@meggon, please see link below
https://github.com/shui5/io_Siemens_XA2VE/blob/main/io_Siemens_XA2VE.m.

This script reads and re-writes the header using io_loadspec_rda and io_writerda from FID-A and Osprey, respectively.

You may find them in GitHub - CIC-methods/FID-A: Toolbox for simulation and processing of in-vivo magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data and GitHub - schorschinho/osprey: All-in-one toolbox for processing of magnetic resonance spectroscopy data.

2 Likes

Amazing, thank you so much Steve, I’m so grateful!! (so is the Brown University community!) :slight_smile: