Error using Custom metabolites in GUI

Hello - I am very new to MRS and am learning as I try to process data using the new version of Osprey for SVS PRESS 30 data. I can successfully process data if I use the default settings in the GUI. However, I would like to quantify alcohol. In the GUI, when I select the Custom option for metabolites and check the EtOH box, I get this error (see below) when trying the ‘Model data’ step. I have played around and it works if I select ‘Default’ or ‘Full’ metabolites in the GUI, which includes EtOH. This brings me to a second question. I noticed the quantification/values of metabolites is different when comparing the output from using the default set versus full set of metabolites. Is that to be expected? My (very elementary) understanding is that the numbers should be the same even if different metabolites are included to be quantified. I am now not sure which value for glutamate (for example) should I use if I have two different numbers?

Thank you!
Bethany

Timestamp August 09, 2022 15:17:56 Osprey 2.3.0 OspreyFit
Error using /
Matrix dimensions must agree.

Error in osp_fitInitialise (line 165)
MRSCont.fit.scale{kk} = max(real(dataToScale.specs)) / max(max(max(real(basisSet.specs))));

Error in OspreyFit (line 50)
[MRSCont] = osp_fitInitialise(MRSCont);

Error in osp_onFit (line 35)
MRSCont = OspreyFit(MRSCont);

Error while evaluating UIControl Callback.

Hi @bstennett,

Thanks for picking up Osprey and reaching out.

You could also try to set up your analysis by using the example job files. In there, you have an entry with opts.fit.includeMetabs. You could try replacing the {‘default’} entry with:

{‘Asc’,‘Asp’,‘Cr’,‘CrCH2’, ‘EtOH’ …
,‘GABA’,‘GPC’,‘GSH’,‘Gln’,‘Glu’ …
,‘mI’,‘Lac’,‘NAA’,‘NAAG’,‘PCh’,‘PCr’,‘PE’ …
,‘sI’,‘Tau’,‘MM09’ …
,‘MM12’,‘MM14’,‘MM17’,‘MM20’,‘Lip09’,‘Lip13’,‘Lip20’}

And see whether this works. I’ll, in the meantime, check whether there is an issue with the GUI that is causing your problem.