Fsl_mrs GABA not showing up - sLaser

I’m new to fsl_mrs and am running into some problems getting my neurotransmitter of interest, GABA, to show up.

Data is collected as a single 2x2x2 voxel on a 7T Siemens TERRA scanner using sLaser. Files are saved as dicom which I’ve converted using spec2nii without any real issues. I then went through the standard pipeline using fsl_mrs_preproc and fsl_mrs to fit my data and for some participants it seemed to have worked fine, but for the majority no GABA shows up.

I don’t think it’s a data issue as I’ve also checked with a control subject from someone else’s study that is supposed to have great levels of GABA previously analysed using LCmodel.

I assume I’m going wrong somewhere, but I wouldn’t know where to start looking. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

GABA is a small signal and difficult to reliably and unequivocally resolve without spectral editing, even at 7T.

LCModel uses internal soft constraints and expectation values for certain low-level metabolites like GABA (see section 11.8 in the manual), which encourages GABA to be modeled at relatively consistent levels (low variance) at the risk of providing a bias. I don’t think the effects of the strength of the soft constraint have been thoroughly studied.

I’m not sure FSL-MRS uses similar soft constraints (Will will hopefully clarify), so I wouldn’t be surprised if that is the main reason for the difference, i.e., you did nothing wrong.

1 Like

Hi @mnaessens,

Thanks for giving FSL a try. The fit you show looks mostly good (what are the settings for the macromolecules?), so you should be able to get an estimate for GABA.