Gannet & SIemens TWIX -> MatLab freeze

I’ve tried processing a Siemens TWIX file collected with HERMES. After running GannetLoad, MatLab 2023a usually freezes several times after the message "Averaging subspectra using weighted averaging and peforming subtraction…’ (the graphs are displayed). Once, it ran to completion. The time GannetLoad and produce a pdf, i tried GannetFit, which then led to MatLab freezing after the first message.

Any suggestions? I’m using a MacBook Pro M2 2021 with 64GB RAM.
Thanks,
John

Hi @johnbrks,

This is quite peculiar. I develop Gannet on a MacBook Pro M1 2020 in MATLAB 2023a and have not encountered this problem before (even with previous MATLAB versions).

Could you copy-paste your GannetPreInitialise.m settings?

Also, does any other script/code you use in MATLAB lead to it freezing?

Mark

Also, which version of Gannet are you using?

i’m running gannet 3.3.1. i’ve not had anything else freeze matlab. here’s the preinitialise. I’m new to gannet so I may have made an error…
i’ve tried it with water removal on and off. it did run once.

function MRS_struct = GannetPreInitialise(MRS_struct)

% Acquisition parameters
MRS_struct.p.target = {‘GABAGlx’,‘GSH’}; % Edited metabolite(s) of interest; permitted options are:
% If MEGA-PRESS:
% {‘GABA’}, {‘GABAGlx’}, {‘GSH’}, {‘Lac’}, or {‘EtOH’}
% If HERMES:
% {‘GABAGlx’,‘GSH’}, {‘Lac’,‘GSH’}, or {‘EtOH’,‘GABA’,‘GSH’}
% If HERCULES:
% {‘GABAGlx’,‘GSH’}
% If phantom data:
% and MEGA-PRESS: {‘GABA’}, {‘Glx’}, {‘GSH’}, {‘Lac’}, or {‘EtOH’}
% and HERMES: {‘GABA’,‘GSH’}, {‘Glx’,‘GSH’}, {‘Lac’,‘GSH’}, or {‘EtOH’,‘GABA’,‘GSH’}
MRS_struct.p.seqorig = ‘JHU’; % Origin of Philips MEGA-PRESS or GE HERMES sequences;
% options are ‘JHU’ or ‘Philips’ if Philips, or ‘Lythgoe’ if GE (for HERMES only)

% Analysis parameters
MRS_struct.p.LB = 3; % Exponential line-broadening (in Hz)
MRS_struct.p.water_ECC = 1; % 1 = YES, perform eddy current correction on water data