Install LCModel to a folder other than $HOME

Hello lovely MRS community!

I’m new to LCModel and I’m having some issues installing LCModel.

I’m working with a Linux workstation and don’t have root privileges. In addition, my $HOME folder has limtied memory and I don’t install anything to $HOME. For this reason, I’m trying to install LCModel to a different folder ($WD=‘export01/data’) where I have write privileges. I downloaded the LCModel tar file from Dr.Provencher’s website to $WD. Then I modified the install-lcmodel bash file so LCModel would be installed to $WD. The installation works without a glitch but I test run fails . It seems when LCModel runs the test run, it looks for some RAW files in my $HOME folder. I checked the $HOME folder for some LCModel files and found the following 4 folders:

This may be a cause for the errors.

TLDR, dooes anyone know how I can download LCModel fully to my $WD? Thank you so much for your help!

All the best,
Hande

The main lcmodel binary is basically agnostic to its location, provided you have all the paths correct in your input .control file – but I expect you’ll run into trouble with some of the ancillary commands (eg, the GUI, and some of the file conversion plugins which the GUI calls by default).

There may be cleaner solutions, but the way that I handle this scenario is with symbolic links. First thing to try would by a symbolic link from your home directory to $WD. You should first make sure you don’t have a .lcmodel folder there already…

[ -d ~/.lcmodel ] && mv -v ~/.lcmodel ~/.lcmodel.old   # move any pre-existing folder

ln -s ${WD}/your_lcmodel_folder ~/.lcmodel   # create symbolic link to preferred location