jMRUI text format versus other formats

Hi All,

I’m a newbie when it comes to MRI spectroscopy (,so sorry for a dumb question). I want to simulate the spectra with jMRUI- NMR-SCOPE-B, and then load it in MATLAB.

In MATLAB I can load the text files jMRUI can output using the function mrs_readJmruiTXT.m (author : Chen Chen)

However the spectrum looks different (shifted?) than the original. In fact, just loading the text file back into jMRUI gives another spectrum. See uploaded file for examples.

spectro_test_formats.pdf (556.7 KB)

How do I get (or view) the same spectrum in MATLAB as that simulated in jMRUI?

Thank you,
Paul

Hi Paul,

Welcome to the forum!

Have you tried another loader function? FID-A (GitHub - CIC-methods/FID-A: Toolbox for simulation and processing of in-vivo magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data) is a very versatile MATLAB MRS package and has a build in jMRUI loader (FID-A/io_loadjmrui.m at master · CIC-methods/FID-A · GitHub).

Best,
Helge

1 Like

Hi

what version of JMRUI are you using?
looks quite strange all is happening in your simulations, but i remember that once there was a problem with the .txt files in jMRUI

i will do some simulations next week with NMRSCOPEB and will keep you posted
in the meantime also try to contact Jana @JanaS - jmrui@isibrno.cz - she is the expert on this
best
cristina

Hi Helge, Cristina,

Thank you for your response and welcoming me. I looked at it again, and I only see a difference between the .mrui and .txt file format when I do the simulation with the scanner frequency offset. This may explain it. I think the txt format does not save this frequency offset tag/header (which the jmrui display uses?)

I looked at other posts, and saw that I could also save the data directly as a .m file which is easy to load in MATLAB.