Metabolite Concentration Calculation from Amplitudes

Hi MRSHub,

A newbie here trying to analyze some MRS using jMRUI for research purposes. I have some MRS data from thigh muscles; ultimately, I aim to quantify the metabolites and compare them between subjects.

I use the AMARES method for quantitation and get the amplitudes of the metabolites. When I read the literature, I see authors normally report the concentration of the metabolites (in mmol/L or mmol/kg). My question is how do I go from the amplitude to the concentration? Is there a fixed established formula that people use? If yes, what is that?

This might be a very baseline question but reading different papers made me more confused as I haven’t understood how people did it. Any help is appreciated! Thanks for your time.

Hi Droy,

I’ll try to give some background to answer your question, but you might be better off just skipping to the references at the end, finding them and giving them a good read.

To calculate metabolite concentrations from signal amplitudes, you need to consider a few things.
First approximation is that the size of the signal is determined by the amount of the substance present - so more of metabolite X, gives a bigger signal for metabolite X.
Caveats, or adjustments to this approximation are that

1. signal is also determined by the number of nuclei present in metabolite X, such that if metabolite X has 3 x as many nuclei of interest in its molecualr structure, it will give 3 times as much signal. (this is really just an extension of the more of somehting there is, the more signal you get rule, but at the level of the nuclei of interest, 1h, 31P etc.). Some metabolites will give rise to more than one peak, and you will need to know how many nuclei are giving rise to the peak you are fitting.
  2. relaxation properties also affect signal (T1 and T2 relaxation)