Negative values in basis real part

Hello MRSHub community,

I am an undergraduate student working on an MRS processing project. I am currently exploring the creation of simulated data by manipulating a certain basis set.

The basis set in question is the one provided by the 2016 ISMRM MRS Fitting Challenge. When plotting the real part of the individual metabolite spectra, I noticed that some components had negative values (as can be seen in the image below), even though they apparently have no phase shift in the FIDs. In addition, I noticed that all components have a small peak around 0 ppm.

I would like to know if negative values are possible in the real part of a basis set component spectra or if I would be doing something wrong when I apply the Fourier transform or when I load the basis set.

Best regards,

Márcio

1 Like

Hi @marcioalmeida,

The spectra you’re displaying are correct.

Depending on the echo time of the MRS acquisition, 1H MRS metabolite resonances can be negative in amplitude due to scalar coupling/evolution effects. While I’m unfamiliar with the specifics of the 2016 ISMRM MRS Fitting Challenge basis set, I imagine the spectra were simulated at TE = 30 or 35 ms. In this case, signals like GABA would show negative amplitudes. Excellent source texts to learn about scalar coupling/evolution can be found here and here.