Problems with data being flipped

Hi, I have been having trouble with some of the data flipping upside down. Is there a reason for that? And is that due to how Osprey handles the data or because of the scanner? I am very new to MRS so all help is welcome. We use a 3T Siemens Skyra magnet and the data is in .dcm format. Below is an example of a flipped data.

-Nella

Hi Nella,

Sorry you’re having difficulties! Are you able to share the jobfile you used?

Best,
Chris

Hi Chris,

Thank you for the quick response. Below is the jobfile. And the weird thing is that it does this only for a few datasets(3/50). And I believe that it happenes during the Process phase:

While the others look completely fine:

datatarkistus.m (15.1 KB)

-Nella

Hi Nella,
when I understand the Osprey code right, Osprey uses here a double Lorentzian curve fit to the Cr-Cho doublet (see FID-A\processingTools\op_creChoFit.m), so the big lipid peak with opposite sign shouldn’t make problems and the position of the two peaks also looks good.
To have a further look, you can try to modify OspreyProcess.m in line 698 (https://github.com/schorschinho/osprey/blob/develop/process/OspreyProcess.m) to
[raw,globalPhase] = op_phaseCrCho(raw, 0);
then you should have a plot of this fit (with and without phase correction) and maybe you can see if something goes wrong.

Best,
Heiner

Hi Heiner,

Thank you for your help. I don’t know if I completely understood what you said, but is the point that it shouldn’t matter even if the data gets flipped? Because the values that I get from the fitted plot are for example 0.00 for NAA which is not correct.

-Nella

Hi Nella,