Absolute Quantification Equation

Dear Experts,

I’m relatively new to MRS so please forgive me if this is a silly question.

I’m trying to calculate absolute concentration of metabolites utilising the equation by Near et al. 2020. I have obtained values for most of the variables in the equation, however I am stuck on RM and NM.

• I am trying to calculate RM for GM and WM but I need to obtain [M]GM/WM. I have read the supporting information from Near et al. 2020 but there doesn’t appear to be a formula to calculate it. Is this something I need to obtain from the scanner?
  • Are there any citable documents quantifying the number of metabolite protons contributing to the signal (NM), for each metabolite?

Thanks in advance!

Nathan

Hi @nathandelang,

I assume you’re referring to this paper: https://doi.org/10.1002/nbm.4257?

[M]_GM/[M]_WM has to be taken from the literature. For example, for GABA, this ratio is approx. 2:1 (see, e.g., https://doi.org/10.1002/nbm.3622). We have set this ratio for some other metabolites in Gannet that you may refer to.

I use Govindaraju et al.'s excellent paper from 2000 for this.

Regarding R_M_GM and R_M_WM: Given the size of MRS voxels, getting pure GM and WM voxels to (accurately) measure metabolite relaxation times in GM and WM is not feasible (well, maybe not for WM…). So care must be taken applying these parameters. But perhaps @PGMM has thoughts on this. I guess in the end, all of these parameters are approximations anyway :man_shrugging:t4:

Hope this helps.

Mark

Hi @mmikkel,

Thank you so much for your prompt response! And thank you for all the cited papers and code in Gannet - this has been a massive help!

I have attempted the full calculation but I’m still not getting the correct value. As an example, I calculated the value for NAA, and I got 0.0121. I’m thinking this could be something related to the units (i.e. it looks like the value may be out by an order of 1000) but I can’t figure out where it is going wrong.