Problem loading .rda files

Dear experts,

I am quite new to spectroscopy and have a few questions.

1. For TWIX data, I was able to run the whole process without any problems. However, my question would be how define which data needs to be discarded, how to find artifacts or outliers? Is there a good description somewhere how to evaluate the data?

2. Unfortunately I only have twix data for 4 participants. The whole study was recorded 2 years ago (not from me) and they only find out that twix would be better at the end of the experiment. For all other 13 participants, I only had rda files. I had some problems loading the rda files into Osprey. I put ON / OFF and DIFF into one folder for each subject separately and loaded that one in the jobRDA file. I further modified the files(counter) variable that all three files were uploaded. But independet of the fact if one or all three were uploaded, there was an error in Matlab during the loading of the data.

1. I had several runs for each participant with the same settings. Is there a way to include different runs or to sum them up within the software?

Any help would be really appreciated.

best regards,
Tina

Hi Tina,

Thanks for using Osprey! Happy to assist:

1. It’s difficult to come up with hard cut-off exclusion criteria, and I tend to advise against that. If you’re looking for quantitative numbers, the SNR and FWHM (signal-to-noise ratio and linewidth) that Osprey returns are valuable indicators of data quality, as are the fit residuals. Generally, you want to see a fit model that agrees well with the data you’re trying to fit - gross modeling artefacts are a sure sign that something went wrong. In terms of artefacts, Roland Kreis’ artefact gallery is still a wonderful resource.